Indian Premier League

Category: Sports

Presentation Description

No description available.


By: tanvipanchamia3 (116 month(s) ago)

I need this video... please send me the link on [email protected]

By: vicky1977 (133 month(s) ago)

Nice one, plz send me the link to download [email protected]

By: simran7 (133 month(s) ago)


By: amanrajjj (135 month(s) ago)


By: khushi.412 (137 month(s) ago)

hey plzzz... ur presentation is very nice plzzz i wanna download it...plzzz.. or send me d link @ [email protected]

See all

Presentation Transcript

PowerPoint Presentation:

The Indian Premier League (often abbreviated as IPL ), is a Twenty20 cricket competition initiated by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) and supervised by BCCI Vice President Lalit Modi , Chairman & Commissioner for IPL. It includes 8 teams or "franchises" consisting of players from different countries. The first season of the Indian Premier League commenced on 18 April 2008.

First Season:

First Season The tournament started on 18 April 2008 in Bangalore and lasted for 46 days with 59 matches scheduled, out of which 58 took place and 1 was washed out due to rain. The top four ranking sides progressed to the knockout stage of semi-finals followed by a final. Rajasthan Royals won the IPL champions.

Second season :

Second season The 2009 season coincided with the general elections in India. Due to concerns regarding players security, the venue was shifted to South Africa. The format of the tournament remained the same as the inaugural one. Deccan Chargers came out as eventual winners of the tournament.

Third season :

Third season The third season of IPL opened in January 2010 with the auction for players. 66 players were on offer but only 11 players were sold. No player from Pakistan was selected. The third season started in India on 12 March 2010 and is due to last over a period of 45 days. Five new venues, Cuttack, Nagpur, Vishakhapatnam, Ahmedabad and Dharamsala , have been added. Other changes include removal of icon players and granting permission to players who were involved in the Indian Cricket League to play in the tournament. Also, it will be the first sporting event ever to be broadcast live on the popular video sharing website Youtube .

Franchisees :

Franchisees Franchise Owner(s) Mumbai Indians Mukesh Ambani (Reliance Industries) Royal Challengers Bangalore Vijay Mallya (UB Group) Deccan Chargers Deccan Chronicle( Venkat Ram Reddy) Chennai Super Kings India Cements ( N.Srinivasan ) Delhi Daredevils GMR Holdings (Grandhi Mallikarjuna Rao ) Kings XI Punjab Ness Wadia (Bombay Dyeing), Priety Zinta , Mohit Burman (Dabur) and Karan Paul ( Apeejay Surendera Group) Kolkata Knight Riders Red Chillies Entertainment ( Shahrukh Khan, Gauri Khan, Juhi Chawla and J Mehta) Rajasthan Royals Emerging Media (Lachlan Murdoch, A.R Jha and Suresh Chellaram ), Ultra tech cements,Shilpa Shetty , Raj Kundra

Television rights and sponsorships :

Television rights and sponsorships The IPL is predicted to bring the BCCI income of approximately US $1.6 billion, over a period of five to ten years. All of these revenues are directed to a central pool, 40% of which will go to IPL itself, 54% to franchisees and 6% as prize money. The money will be distributed in these proportions until 2017, after which the share of IPL will be 50%, franchisees 45% and prize money 5%. The IPL signed up Kingfisher Airlines as the official umpire partner for the series in a Rs. 106 crore (1.06 billion) deal. This deal sees the Kingfisher Airlines brand on all umpires' uniforms and also on the giant screens during third umpire decisions.

Sponsorships :

Sponsorships India's biggest property developer DLF Group paid US$50 million to be the title sponsor of the tournament for 5 years from 2008 to 2013.

Official IPL Mobile Applications :

Official IPL Mobile Applications DCI Mobile Studios have released the IPL T20 Mobile applications for iPhone, Nokia Smartphones and Blackberry devices. Soon it will be made available across all other major Mobile platforms including the Android, Windows Mobile, Palm.

Rules :

Rules The official rules for the tournament are : There are five ways that a franchise can acquire a player. In the annual auction, buying domestic players, signing uncapped players through trading and buying replacements. In the trading window the player can only be traded with his consent. The franchise will have to pay the difference between the old contract price and the new contract price. If the new contract is worth more than the older one then the difference will be shared between the player and the franchise selling the player. Some of the Team composition rules are: Minimum squad strength of 16 players plus one physic and a coach. No more than 8 foreign players in the squad and at most 4 in the playing XI. For the 2009 edition franchises are allowed 10 foreign players in the squad. The number allowed in the playing XI remains unchanged at 4. A minimum of 8 local players must be included in each team. A minimum of 2 players from the BCCI under-22 pool in each team. The total spending cap for a franchisee in the first player auction was US $5m. Under-22 players are to be remunerated with a minimum annual salary of US $20,000 while for others it is US $50,000.

Watch the latest updates on the website :

Watch the latest updates on the website :