Category: Entertainment

Presentation Description

No description available.


Presentation Transcript

The Caldecott Medal : 

The Caldecott Medal Cheryl Youse Colquitt County High School

Slide 2: 

What is the Caldecott Medal?

Slide 3: 

The Caldecott is given out each year by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.

Slide 4: 

The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of English illustrator Randolph Caldecott who lived in the 1800’s. This is a book he wrote called “John Gilpin’s Ride.” The medal looks like the pictures from this book.

Slide 5: 

In 1937, Rene’ Paul Chambellan designed the Caldecott Medal. It is a bronze medal with the winner’s name and the date engraved on the back.

Slide 6: 

Fifteen Librarians who work with children’s books are chosen to be on the Caldecott committee. They read hundreds and hundreds of books so they can decided which one is the best!

picture book:   a book consisting mainly or entirely of pictures, esp. one for children who have not yet learned to read. : 

picture book:   a book consisting mainly or entirely of pictures, esp. one for children who have not yet learned to read. True picture books are books in which the pictures help tell the story : the pictures are needed to understand the story

Slide 8: 

The first Caldecott Medal was presented in 1938 to Dorothy Lathrop for her book, Animals of the Bible, A Picture Book. Medium: black and white lithographs (Medium means what kind of artwork/how the artwork was made)

Slide 9: 

2006 Caldecott Winner Author: Norman Juster Illustrator: Chris Raschka Medium: Watercolor

Slide 10: 

2005 Caldecott Winner Author: Kevin Henkes Illustrator: Kevin Henkes Medium: Gouache (method of painting), colored pencil

Slide 11: 

2004 Caldecott Winner Author: Mordecai Gerstein Illustrator: Mordecai Gerstein Medium: Ink and oil paintings

Slide 12: 

2003 Caldecott Winner Author: Eric Rohman Illustrator: Eric Rohman Medium: Colored prints

Slide 13: 

2002 Caldecott Winner Author: David Wiesner Illustrator: David Wiesner Medium: Watercolor

Slide 14: 

2001 Caldecott Winner Author: Judith St. George Illustrator: David Small Medium: Watercolor, pen and ink, pastel

Slide 15: 

2000 Caldecott Winner Author: Sims Taback Illustrator: Sims Taback Medium: gouache, watercolor, collage, pencil, and ink as well as die cutting

Slide 16: 

1999 Caldecott Winner Author: Jacqueline Briggs Martin Illustrator: Mary Azarian Medium: Woodcut, watercolor

Slide 17: 

1998 Caldecott Winner Author: Paul O. Zelinsky Illustrator: O. Paul Zelinsky Medium: watercolor, acrylic, oil paint

Slide 18: 

1997 Caldecott Winner Author: David Wisniewski Illustrator: David Wisniewski Medium: Papercut collage

Slide 19: 

1996 Caldecott Winner Author: Peggy Rathman Illustrator: Peggy Rathman Medium: Watercolor

Slide 20: 

1995 Caldecott Winner Author: Eve Bunting Illustrator: David Diaz Medium: Collage

Slide 21: 

Some books each year were called “runners-up”. In 1971, that term was changed to “honor books”. These medals look like the award except they are silver instead of bronze. Honor books have great pictures too!

Slide 22: 

“The Red Book”, by Barbara Lehman, was an honor book in 2005.

Slide 23: 

“Don’t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus” by Mo Willems was an Honor book in 2004.

Slide 24: 

“The Dinosaurs of Waterhouse Hawkins” was an Honor book in 2002.

What book will win this year? : 

What book will win this year? The Caldecott has been presented every year since 1938

Slide 26: 

Books which have won the Caldecott Medal or an honor medal use pictures to help tell the story, and the pictures are really good! Look for a Caldecott today.

Slide 27: 

Bibliography/Sources, book images. Allen County Indiana Public Library, 2007 Mock Caldecott Election American Library Association Caldecott Awards. Caldecott Winner and Honor Books 1938-2005. Huck, Charlotte S. Children’s Literature in the Elementary School. Boston: McGraw Hill, 2001. In the Artist's Studio by Paul O. Zelinsky.