8 Limbs of Yoga

Category: Others/ Misc

Presentation Description

The following presentation is a clear explanation of how yoga was originated and how these eight limbs of yoga are important in a life of its practitioner. It was Sage Patanjali who gave us these eight limbs for the nourishment and purity of our body and soul.


Presentation Transcript

slide 1:

The core of P at anja li’s Yoga Sutra is an eight-limbed path that forms the structural framework for yoga practice. Upon practicing all eight limbs of the path it becomes self-evident that no one element is elevated over another in a hierarchical order. Each is part of a holistic focus which eventually brings completeness to the individual as they find their connectivity to the divine. Because we are all uniquely individual a person can emphasize one branch and then move on to another as they round out their understanding.

slide 3:

Yama are the moral code for the human being s to adopt in their life and are very much the part of a yogi. 1

slide 4:

Niyama is the six internal practices that create a positive environment around us give us inner strength and help us move towards the path of yoga. 2

slide 5:

Asana is the physical postures that are done rightly to make us become consciousness with the body and sustain healthy body and mind. 3

slide 6:

Pranayama is a life force or we know as prana which we can get through five forms of breathing techniques: Prana Apana Vyan Udana Samana. 4

slide 7:

Pratyahara is the method of controlling the distracted mind through the withdrawal of your senses. It leads to relaxation inner stability and self-awareness. You can become a master of your body and mind. 5

slide 8:

Samadhi is a state of meditation to reach the higher level of concentration self-realization and union with God. It is formed of two words sama and dhi – sama meaning equanimity and dhi means buddhi Some of the Samadhi types are: 6  Savikalpa Samadhi  Nirvikalpa Samadhi  Mahasamadhi

slide 9:

To be under deep concentration or thought is Dhyana. It involves complete control over the mind that can lead to deeper concentration calmness and tranquility. 7

slide 10:

Dharana is a focus or holding of your mind on one point object or place. In this stage you are not allowing your mind to deviate from one position and increasing your concentration level. 8

slide 11:


authorStream Live Help