Diamond Grading: Understanding the 4C’s of Diamond

Category: Others/ Misc

Presentation Description

Rare, alluring, and unrivalled in brilliance, diamonds are highly indestructible. These precious gemstones endure the test of the time and are cherished everywhere. Read More: http://www.kgkgroup.com/


Presentation Transcript

slide 1:

Diamond Grading: Understanding the 4C’s of Diamond Rare alluring and unrivalled in brilliance diamonds are highly indestructible. These precious gemstones endure the test of the time and are cherished everywhere. Certainly the word “diamond” derives from ‘adamare’ which means “to love passionately.” Of course diamonds are a symbolic representation of love and commitment and buying one for the loved ones is an overwhelming experience. However while choosing ideal diamond jewellery from precious gemstone supplier it is essential that you are well-aware of the standards by which it could be judged. Your first step is to get acquainted with the characteristics of diamond to make an informed decision. Gemological Institute of America GIA created a standard for assessing their diamonds more than 50 years ago. They proposed the 4Cs of diamond viz. colour clarity cut and carat as a premier credential of authenticity and quality of diamonds. These 4Cs are now the globally accepted standards for describing diamonds. Cut: The most important of all cut gives diamonds the desired sparkle. It is intended to maximise brilliance and creates the most "fire." A diamond of high-quality may appear lifeless if it is without high grade cut. However contrary to popular belief wholesale designer jewellery distributors mention that cut in diamond does not represent the shape round oval pear etc.. It is about how the facets of the diamond interact with light.

slide 2:

Someone has rightly said: “A Diamond’s Cut Unleashes Its Light.” The ideal cut gives the ultimate lustre and the sparkling rainbow colours disperse through the top when the light is passed through it. When a piece of diamond underwent precise artistry it creates a desirable visual effect in terms of brightness fire and scintillation. Colour: Diamonds exist in the shades ranging from bright white to pale yellow. A perfect and pure diamond has no hue it is like a drop of water and consequently holds a higher value. The impure or low-quality diamonds have faint hue varying from pale yellow to slightly brown. The colour distinctions are often invisible to an untrained eye and most diamonds appear colourless. Nevertheless the colours become noticeable when viewed under controlled lighting conditions. Depending on the hue diamonds are graded on a scale of D to Z with ‘D’ representing the all natural exceedingly white most valuable piece and ‘Z’ being the least shimmering and relatively cheap. So as the colours become more apparent the cost and quality decrease. Carat: In ancient times a diamond was weighted with the help of carob seeds. This historic practice was discontinued due to fallacies and high chances of errors. In the contemporary environment precise measurements standards are required to ensure accuracy. Therefore Carat 0.2 grams became the sole determinant of the weight of a diamond piece. A carat is sub-divided into 100 parts or points which allows precise measurement up to the 100th decimal place. It is a crucial factor that defines the quality of a diamond but the value of two diamonds of the same weight can vary significantly due to other C’s. Clarity: The ‘clarity’ is a grade that depends significantly on two characteristics inclusion and blemishes which diamonds naturally have because of their process of creation deep within the earth. Diamond clarity comprises of numerous determinants such as relief nature number and

slide 3:

position of these determinants. The grade has been formed to assess every small imperfection that can develop irregularities in the atomic structure of the gemstone. There are a total of eleven diamond clarity grades distributed under 6 categories which are: Flawless FL: The finest variety of diamonds that have no inclusions and blemishes if viewed under 10x magnification. Internally Flawless IL: No inclusion with negligible blemishes which are difficult to observe even for a skilled grader. Very Very Slight Inclusion VVS 1-VVS 2: Nearly invisible inclusion under 10x magnification. Very Slightly Included VS 1-VS 2: Diamonds graded in this category have minor inclusions that can be easily observed under 10x magnification. Slightly Included S 1-S 2: Diamonds under this grade are relatively cheap because of noticeable inclusions. Included I 1-I 2: ‘I’ signals a number of inclusions some of which can even be seen by the naked eye. So these four Cs need to be examined closely before the fifth “C” – Cost because these aspects denote value and rarity of a diamond. With the creation of these standards the quality of the diamond could be communicated in a global language. We hope that now you are well acquainted with the necessary details that will help you in making an informed decision.

authorStream Live Help