Narnia Series Teaser


Presentation Description

No description available.


Presentation Transcript

NOT A TAME GOD:Christ in C.S. Lewis’ Chronicles of Narnia : 

NOT A TAME GOD:Christ in C.S. Lewis’ Chronicles of Narnia By David Ward

Slide 2: 

Are you ready for an adventure?

To a fantastic world… : 

To a fantastic world…

… to meet Him? : 

… to meet Him?

Where we are headed . . . : 

Where we are headed . . . Background on C.S. Lewis An introduction to The Chronicles of Narnia Key literary techniques of Lewis for understanding Narnia’s deeper meanings A reoccurring Plot Pattern in each book, the smuggled theology in the series, the spiritual journeys of major characters, and spiritual insights about Christ through Aslan. How to disciple children using the Chronicles

Narnia’s Creator: C. S. Lewis : 

Narnia’s Creator: C. S. Lewis He becomes an Oxford professor of Medieval literature Lewis was an atheist until his early 30’s as a young scholar Lewis’ friend J.R.R. Tolkien led Lewis to Christ He convinced Lewis that in Christ “Myth” became “Fact”

Lewis: Literary Critic & Writer : 

Lewis: Literary Critic & Writer With Tolkien fought loss of Christian world resulting from the enlightenment Became greatest popular apologist of “Mere Christianity” (classical orthodoxy) in 20th century Wrote apologetics, ethics, autobiography, poetry, science fiction, and fantasy! Lifelong Book Lover

The Chronicles : 

The Chronicles of Narnia are Lewis’ most popular works Published one per year between 1950-1956 It all started with images; not planned as a series; didn’t start as Christian stories They defy genre, but are considered fairy tales They are not just children’s stories The Chronicles What prompted his approach?

Lewis’ Literary Techniques : 

Lewis’ Literary Techniques Lewis’ genius- the Supposal of another world in another dimension Awakening wonder Sneaking past defenses against the spiritual Doorways of the imagination into the soul Baptizing the imagination

Not “Allegory,” “Supposal” : 

Not “Allegory,” “Supposal” He wrote to some Maryland fifth graders in 1954: “I did not say to myself 'Let us represent Jesus as He really is in our world by a Lion in Narnia'; I said 'Let us suppose that there were a land like Narnia and that the Son of God, as he became a Man in our world, became a Lion there, and then imagine what would happen'.”

Past Watchful Dragons : 

Past Watchful Dragons “Why did one find it so hard to feel as one was told one ought to feel about God or about the sufferings of Christ? I thought the chief reason was that one was told told one ought to. … But supposing that by casting all these things into an imaginary world, stripping them of their stained-glass and Sunday school associations, one could make them for the first time appear in their real potency? Could not one steal past, those watchful dragons?” -from Sometimes Fairy Stories May Say Best What’s to Be Said

Magic Books? Or a Baptism? : 

Magic Books? Or a Baptism? “Do you think I am trying to weave a spell? Perhaps I am; but remember your fairy tales. Spells are used for breaking enchant-ments as well as for inducing them. And you and I have need of the strongest spell that can be found to wake us from the evil enchantment of worldliness which has been laid upon us for nearly a hundred years.” The Weight of Glory

Order of the Chronicles : 

Order of the Chronicles Order in which the books were published: 1. The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (1950) 2. Prince Caspian (1951) 3. The Voyage of the Dawn Treader (1952) 4. The Silver Chair (1953) 5. The Horse and His Boy (1954) 6. The Magicians Nephew (1955) 7. The Last Battle (1956)

Order of the Chronicles : 

Order of the Chronicles Chronological order (on earth) within the stories: 1. The Magician's Nephew (1900) 2. The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (1940) 3. The Horse and His Boy (1940) 4. Prince Caspian (1941) 5. The Voyage of the "Dawn Trader" (1942) 6. The Silver Chair (1942) 7. The Last Battle (1949)

Slide 15: 

Stage I: History, Heroes, & the Heroes’ Quest Introduces the moral & theological issues. Stage II: Heroes Tests (Adventures) on the Quest Develops the character & the theological tensions. Stage III: Climax of the Quest’s Conflict Changes the characters & reveals Aslan’s intervention & solution. Stage IV: Consequences of the Quest Resolves unanswered questions & shows the fruit of the Quest Plot Patterns in The Chronicles

Smuggled Theology in The Chronicles : 

Smuggled Theology in The Chronicles In a letter Lewis wrote, 'The whole series works out like this: Magician's Nephew: Narnia’s creation & how evil entered, Lion, Witch, & Wardrobe: the Crucifixion and Resurrection, The Horse and His Boy: the calling & conversion of a heathen, Prince Caspian: restoration of true religion after a corruption, Voyage of Dawn Treader: the spiritual life (especially in Reepicheep), Silver Chair: the continuing war with the powers of darkness, The Last Battle: the coming of Antichrist (the ape) and the end of the world and the last judgement.'

Major Characters’ Spiritual Journeys in The Chronicles : 

Major Characters’ Spiritual Journeys in The Chronicles Lewis’s major characters can all be evaluated by their relation to Aslan’s will. They grow or decline as they believe in and follow his lead– or go their own way. Each grows in faith or unbelief and grow or decline in specific virtues or vices.

Slide 18: 

The character of Aslan reveals Lewis’ supposal of how Christ might show his true character and works in another reality given that world’s creatures and laws. His presence is always behind the scenes, his providences are evident, and his manifestations are revelatory. Lewis’ goal was that by loving Aslan in Narnia readers would be drawn to Jesus in real life. Spiritual Insights about God thru Aslan

authorStream Live Help