Time Management & Work Life Balance

Views:
 
     
 

Presentation Description

Part of a training course based heavily on "First Things First" by Steven Covey, and Roger and Rebecca Merrill

Comments

By: nitin.parasuram (57 month(s) ago)

hii.. ur presentation is very good .. pls do keep update on new topics.. appreciate ur efforts..

By: anzac (57 month(s) ago)

I appreciate your comments. I hope the presentation was of use to you. Regards Vince

 

By: anzac (61 month(s) ago)

Sorry this should not be restricted Hope ie helps Regards Vince

By: ajithknair (61 month(s) ago)

hai i like it pls send it 2 my id sreepaadam@gmail.com

By: anzac (61 month(s) ago)

Hi There I have not restricted download Vince

 

By: just4u.vibha (62 month(s) ago)

Hey hi dear lovely presentation i wold like to use it in my office can u plz mail me this presentation on just4u.vibha@gmail.com

By: anzac (61 month(s) ago)

Sorry this should not be restricted Hope ie helps Regards Vince

 
By: anzac (62 month(s) ago)

Hi There I have not put any restrictions on the presentation. You should be able to download. Let me know if you have any difficulties Regards Vince

 

By: kuldeep1312 (62 month(s) ago)

Hey hi Deepak here! Would love to download this presentation can you please mail me this? on kuldeep1312@gmail.com

By: anzac (61 month(s) ago)

Sorry this should not be restricted Hope ie helps Regards Vince

 
By: anzac (62 month(s) ago)

Hi There I have not restriced the presentation - feel free to use it Good Luck Vince

 
See all

Presentation Transcript

How Are We Spending Our Time? : 

10/03/2009 SAC Training & Development 1 How Are We Spending Our Time? Time Management Starts with a commitment to change How many people on their death bed said “I wish I had spent more time at work” Time Management is about having enough information to make the right choices

Slide 2: 

10/03/2009 SAC Training & Development 2 How Are We Spending Our Time? “Most of the time I just don’t enjoy life. For every one thing I do, I can think of ten things I don’t do and it makes me feel guilty. The constant stress of trying to decide what I should do in the middle of all I could do, creates tension. How can I know what’s most important? How can I enjoy it?”

Slide 3: 

10/03/2009 SAC Training & Development 3 How Are We Spending Our Time? Commitments Appointments Schedules Goals Activities How we manage our time Vision Values Principles Mission Conscience Direction What we feel is important and how we lead our lives

How Are We Spending Our Time? : 

10/03/2009 SAC Training & Development 4 How Are We Spending Our Time? By the end of today you will have knowledge & understanding of: Where you currently spend your time Where other people currently spend your time Where you need to spend your time Time Management using the Covey 4 Quadrant Tool Ridding yourself of the “timewasters” The effects of poor Time Management Why good Time Management means changing habits

Slide 5: 

10/03/2009 SAC Training & Development 5 How Are We Spending Our Time? “Some of us get so used to the adrenaline rush of handling crisis that we become dependent on it for a sense of excitement and energy. How does urgency feel? Stressful? Pressured? Tense? Exhausting? – Sure but lets be honest, its also exhilarating. We feel useful. We feel successful. We feel validated. And we get good at it. Whenever there’s trouble, we ride into town, pull out our six shooter, do the varmit in, blow the smoke off the gun barrel, and ride into the sunset like a hero. It brings instant results and instant gratification”

Slide 6: 

10/03/2009 SAC Training & Development 6 How Are We Spending Our Time? “We get a temporary high from solving urgent and important crises. Then when the importance isn’t there, the urgency fix is so powerful we are drawn to do anything urgent, just to stay in motion. People expect us to be busy, overworked. It’s become a status symbol in our society – if we’re busy, we’re important; if we’re not busy, we’re almost too embarrassed to admit it. Busyness is where we get our security. It’s validating, popular and pleasing. It’s also an excuse for not dealing with the important things in our lives – the “first things.”

Slide 7: 

10/03/2009 SAC Training & Development 7 Life Goals for each Role 2 – 3 – 4 - 5 Year Plan Milestones – Annual Plan This Months Plan/Activities Personal Aspirations Key Responsibilities, 2004 Objectives This Weeks Plan/Activities Supported by Quadrant 2 Activities Values Beliefs How Are We Spending Our Time? PRINCIPLES

Slide 8: 

10/03/2009 SAC Training & Development 8 How Are We Spending Our Time? “There’s no such thing as a free lunch” Consumer Expert after The Hoover Flights fiasco

How Are We Spending Our Time? : 

10/03/2009 SAC Training & Development 9 How Are We Spending Our Time? Completing your Values Questionnaire Take sheet 3 and allocate points as follows  5 points to the 6 values you hold highest 1 point to the 5 values you you hold lowest With the remaining 12 values listed on the sheet Give 4 values 4 points Give 4 values 3 points Give 4 values 2 points

How Are We Spending Our Time? : 

10/03/2009 SAC Training & Development 10 How Are We Spending Our Time? Remember these are the things you identified as being important to you

How Are We Spending Our Time? : 

10/03/2009 SAC Training & Development 11 How Are We Spending Our Time? All Activities can be classified by importance and urgency An activity is important if you personally find it valuable, and if it contributes to what you really want from life, your values and your high priority goals.

How Are We Spending Our Time? : 

10/03/2009 SAC Training & Development 12 How Are We Spending Our Time? An activity is urgent if you or others feel it requires immediate attention

How Are We Spending Our Time? : 

10/03/2009 SAC Training & Development 13 How Are We Spending Our Time? URGENT NOT URGENT IMPORTANT NOT IMPORTANT I II III IV

How Are We Spending Our Time? : 

10/03/2009 SAC Training & Development 14 How Are We Spending Our Time? URGENT NOT URGENT IMPORTANT NOT IMPORTANT I II III IV

How Are We Spending Our Time? : 

10/03/2009 SAC Training & Development 15 How Are We Spending Our Time? Creating Time for Quadrant 2 Activities Identify and eliminate quadrant 3 and 4 activities Review any “quadrant 1” activities – Is it really your quadrant 1? - How will this support the things that are important to you? Do you really have to do this at all? What will happen if you don’t do it? What effect will it have on your relationship with this person or the organisation if you drop or postpone it?

How Are We Spending Our Time? : 

10/03/2009 SAC Training & Development 16 How Are We Spending Our Time? 7 Step Planning Process Remind yourself what is really important Review the roles you are expected to fulfil Identify the goals/milestones you have set under each role Recognise the activities which support these Organise weekly by reviewing what’s ahead – quadrant 2 Exercise integrity in making your choices of activities Evaluate your previous weeks activities – learn from your mistakes

Slide 17: 

10/03/2009 SAC Training & Development 17 How Are We Spending Our Time? URGENT NOT URGENT IMPORTANT NOT IMPORTANT I II III IV

Slide 18: 

10/03/2009 SAC Training & Development 18 How Are We Spending Our Time? URGENT NOT URGENT IMPORTANT NOT IMPORTANT I II III IV Total Irresponsibility Fired from jobs Dependant on others for basics

What does it mean to you? : 

10/03/2009 SAC Training & Development 19 What does it mean to you? Assertiveness is based on the belief that in any situation; You have needs to be met The other people involved have needs to be met You have rights, so do others You have something to contribute, so do others How Are We Spending Our Time?

Assertive “Persuasion” : 

10/03/2009 SAC Training & Development 20 Assertive “Persuasion” Relax (as far as possible) Have your information ready Be sure of your facts Calmly state your feelings Keep to the point Acknowledge the other persons point of view Encourage joint solutions where possible Go for “Win – Win” Summarise the agreement Don’t Give up too easily How Are We Spending Our Time?

Slide 21: 

10/03/2009 SAC Training & Development 21 Levels of Empowerment Level 1 Wait until told Level 6 Do it Level 3 Bring Recommendations Level 5 Do it & report routinely Level 2 Ask for instructions Level 4 Do it & Report Immediately How Are We Spending Our Time?

Slide 22: 

10/03/2009 SAC Training & Development 22 Process for Evaluating Levels of Empowerment Determine your confidence in the person/people Determine your perception of the situation’s risk Determine your perspective on the appropriate level of empowerment and what leadership style is appropriate for the person/people at that level Plan how to communicate your expectations using that leadership style How Are We Spending Our Time?

How Are We Spending Our Time? : 

10/03/2009 SAC Training & Development 23 How Are We Spending Our Time? By the end of today you will have knowledge & understanding of: Where you currently spend your time Where other people currently spend your time Where you need to spend your time Time Management using the Covey 4 Quadrant Tool Ridding yourself of the “timewasters” The effects of poor Time Management Why good Time Management means changing habits

How Are We Spending Our Time? : 

10/03/2009 SAC Training & Development 24 How Are We Spending Our Time? Knowledge (what to, why to) Desire (want to) Skill (how to) Habits Developing Habits

authorStream Live Help