Religions of India (1)

Category: Entertainment

Presentation Description

No description available.


Presentation Transcript

Religions of India:

Religions of India


Hinduism 80% of population Monotheistic (polytheistic incarnation) Divide infinity in half it is still infinity Reincarnation 4 Vedas – religious texts All life is sacred

Karma, Dharma, Moksha:

Karma, Dharma, Moksha Dharma – Stuff you do in this life Karma – The total of your Dharma, carries through to next life Moksha – release yourself from the cycle of birth, life, death rebirth must build up good karma


God(s) Life is cyclical, so are the gods Brahma – giver of life Vishnu – preserver of life Also keeps balance good/evil Shiva -- destroyer of world


Islam Monotheistic Allah Mohammed 5 pillars Quran


Sikhism There is only One God. He is the same God for all people of all religions. The soul goes through cycles of births and deaths before it reaches the human form.. The true path to achieving salvation and merging with God does not require renunciation of the world or celibacy, but living the life of a householder, earning a honest living and avoiding worldly temptations and sins. Sikhism condemns blind rituals such as fasting, visiting places of pilgrimage, superstitions, worship of the dead, idol worship etc. Sikhism preaches that people of different races, religions, or sex are all equal in the eyes of God. It teaches the full equality of men and women. Women can participate in any religious function or perform any Sikh ceremony or lead the congregation in prayer.




Gurus Sri Guru Nanak Dev Ji Born in Punjab region Mix between religions, but also independent 10 Gurus (reincarnation) Direct faith to god No ceremonies






Buddhism Siddartha Story 4 Noble Truths 8 Fold Path Reincarnation wheel of life Nirvana

4 Noble Truths:

4 Noble Truths The Four Noble Truths 1. Life is suffering; 2. Suffering is due to attachment; 3. Attachment can be overcome; 4. There is a path for accomplishing this.

8 fold Path:

8 fold Path 1. Right view is the true understanding of the four noble truths. 2. Right aspiration is the true desire to free oneself from attachment, ignorance, and hatefulness. 3. Right speech involves abstaining from lying, gossiping, or hurtful talk. 4. Right action involves abstaining from hurtful behaviors, such as killing, stealing, and careless sex. 5. Right livelihood means making your living in such a way as to avoid dishonesty and hurting others, including animals. 6. Right effort is a matter of exerting oneself in regards to the content of one's mind: Bad qualities should be abandoned and prevented from arising again; Good qualities should be enacted and nurtured. 7. Right mindfulness is the focusing of one's attention on one's body, feelings, thoughts, and consciousness in such a way as to overcome craving, hatred, and ignorance. 8. Right concentration is meditating in such a way as to progressively realize a true understanding of imperfection, impermanence, and non-separateness .

authorStream Live Help