Arun Upasana Hindu

Category: Entertainment

Presentation Description

No description available.


Presentation Transcript

Dominant Hindu Philosophies 2006: 

Dominant Hindu Philosophies 2006 Presented by: Arun Handa


Philosophy phil meaning "love" and sophy meaning "wisdom." Hinduism – Sanatam Dharm Eternal Truth

Timelines of Religions: 

Timelines of Religions Hinduism Judaism Christianity Islam Budhism, Jainism 1500 BC 3000 BC 1-33 AD 500-600 BC 1500 AD 1900 AD Today 2006 AD Sikhism Arya Samaj Zorastrianism

Hindu Tree: 

Hindu Tree Hinduism Jainism Sikhism Buddhism Arya Samaj Shaivism Vaishanvism Shaktiism

Other Religions vs. Hindu Dharma: 

Other Religions vs. Hindu Dharma Religious progress related to following set of rules defined by scriptures God may be worshipped only in a few specific ways There is no life after death, but assessment on Judgement Day Humans “higher” than animals, so treat differently Idea of religion being the only religion leading to salvation Many different paths spiritual progress in experiential process God may be worshipped many forms and ways Eternal bliss achieved through good karma (actions) and renunciation All creatures are infused with the same paramatma, and so should be respected Dharma as one way imbibed in society Hinduism Other Religions

Our Lord Iswara: 

Our Lord Iswara Ominscient Ominipotent OmniPresent

God is in us and all around us: 

God is in us and all around us

Universal Form: 

Universal Form Ekam Sat Vipra Bahuda Vipra Vadanti That which Exists is One Sages Call it by different names

Many Forms: 

Many Forms

About our Gods: 

About our Gods

Jiv, Atma and Self-Realization (Moksha): 

Jiv, Atma and Self-Realization (Moksha)

Dvait and Advait: 

Dvait and Advait In the Advait school of thought, the god and the self are the same, or inseparable. Hence, one seeks god within the self. On the other hand, in the Dvait school of thought there is a distinction between the self and the god. Thus, the seeker is different from what it seeks. Of course, the goal of both these philosophies is to lead the self to the truth.

Four Yog: 

Four Yog According to the Vedas, there are four ways to attain moksh,liberation or self-realisation: Karma Yoga selfless actions,detachment from ego, following dharma Bhakti Yoga path of devotion, prayer and worship, seeing God in all Gyana Yoga path of knowledge, study of scriptures such as the Vedanta Raja Yoga – physical and mental control, meditation, yoga as known in the West


Guna Sattva quality characterized by peace, knowledge and cleanliness Rajas quality characterized by activity and passion Tamas quality characterized by dullness, ignorance or anger

4 Ashram: 

4 Ashram Brahmacharya Grihastha Vanaprastha Sanyasa

Rishi Muni: 

Rishi Muni Ved Vyasa Kapila Brihaspat Agastya Shuka Vaishistha Bhrigu

authorStream Live Help